What Is Power Play In Cricket

A Power Play Is A Feature Introduced Into One Day International (ODI) Cricket In 1991 Concerning Fielding Restrictions.

It Is Intended For Excitement In Addition. When Power Play Is Activated, The Fielding Team Is Under Restrictions I.E. Only 2 Or 3 Players Are Allowed Outside The 30-Yard Circle (Which Depends Upon The Type Of Power Play). There Are Three Power Plays In An ODI Cricket Innings.

Batting Power Play Rules In Cricket


Power Play Rules In Cricket Are Split Into Three Categories, Known As Powerplay One, Powerplay Two And Powerplay Three. Originally, Powerplay One Began At The Start Of An ODI Cricket Match And Held For 15 Overs. Only Two Fielders Could Be Outside The 30-Yard Circle During These First 15 Overs. As Of 2011, Powerplay One Only Covers The First 10 Overs. Powerplays Two And Three Are Additional Blocks Of Five Overs Each, In Which Only Three Fielders Can Be Outside The 30-Yard Circle. The Fielding Captain And Batting Captain May Each Invoke One Of These Two Blocks Of Five Overs.

Invoking A Powerplay

When The Batting Captain Wants To Invoke Either Powerplay Two Or Three, He Must Tell The Umpire Before The Next Over Begins. The Umpire Indicates That The Powerplay Rules Are In Effect By Moving His Arm In A Circular Motion. Traditionally, The Batting Captain Was Always Assigned Powerplay Three, And He Had To Wait For The Fielding Captain To First Use Powerplay Two Before The Batting Captain Could Ask For A Powerplay. Since October 2008, However, The Batting Captain Has Been Allowed To Choose To Invoke Powerplay Two As Well.

Rules During Batting Powerplay

During A Powerplay Called By The Batting Captain, Only Three Fielders May Be Outside The 30-Yard Circle On The Cricket Field. The Rest Of The Fielders Must Play Closer To The Batsman, Within The 30-Yard Circle, Though They May Field From Anywhere Inside That Circle. Unlike Powerplay One, During The Later Powerplays There Is No Minimum Required Number Of Fielders Inside The Circle. These Rules Apply Equally To Powerplay Two And Powerplay Three.

Not Using Powerplays

A Batting Captain And Fielding Captain May Choose When To Use Their Respective Powerplay. Powerplays Must Be Played In Blocks Of Five Overs Each; The Overs Cannot Be Split Up. If The Batting Captain Or Fielding Captain Chooses Not To Invoke A Powerplay, The Powerplay Rules Immediately Go Into Effect At The Latest Possible Moment In The Innings. In One-Day Cricket, This Means That Powerplay Two Begins At The 41st Over And Powerplay Three Begins At The 46th Over In An Uninterrupted Innings.


>> On October 29, 2012 The International Cricket Council Made Amendments On Power Plays. There Will Be Two Blocks Of Power Plays, Instead Of Three. ďIn An Uninterrupted Innings, The First Power Play Will Be Restricted To The First 10 Overís With Only Two Fielders Allowed Outside The 30-Yard Circle. The Second Five-Over Batting Power Play (In An Uninterrupted Innings) Will Have To Be Completed By The 40th Over And Only Three Fielders Will Be Allowed Outside The Fielding Restriction Area At The Time Of Delivery. In The Non-Power Play Overís, No More Than Four Fielders Will Be Permitted Outside The 30-Yard Circle.Ē

In An Uninterrupted Match, The First 10 Overís Of An Innings Will Be A Mandatory Power Play. No Team Or Captain Can Change The Occurrence Of This Power Play. The Other Two Power Plays Are A Block Of Five Overís: One Block Shall Be Taken At The Discretion Of The Fielding Captain And The Other At The Discretion Of Either Of The Batsmen At The Wicket. They Can Be Referred As Bowling And Batting Power Plays.

During The Mandatory Power Play Only Two Fielders Are Allowed Outside The 30-Yard Circle And There Must Be A Minimum Of Two Stationary Fielders Within The Applicable Fielding Restriction Area Measured From The Strikerís End At The Instant Of Delivery. During Bowling And Batting Power Play Overís, Only Three Fielders Are Allowed Outside The 30-Yard Circle. During The Non-Power Play Overís, No More Than Five Fielders Shall Be Permitted Outside The Fielding Restriction Area.

From October 1, 2011, The ICC Brought Changes To The Bowling And Batting Power Plays. Under The New Rules, In A 50-Over Match, Neither Power Play May Be Taken Before The Start Of The 16th Over And Both Must Be Completed Before The Commencement Of The 41st Over, So Overís 11 To 15 And 41 To 50 Cannot Be Power Play Overís. Should Either Or Both Teams Choose Not To Exercise Their Discretion, Their Power Play Overís Will Automatically Commence At The Latest Available Point In The Innings (E.G. In A 50-Over Innings With One Unclaimed Power Play, It Will Begin At The Start Of The 36th Over).

When The Batting Team’s Number Of Overís Is Reduced, The Number Of Power Play Overís Shall Be Reduced In Accordance With The Table Below. For The Sake Of Clarity, It Should Be Noted That The Table Shall Apply To Both The First And Second Innings Of The Match.

Reliable 4 You